Movie Madness Monday

So, Movie Madness Monday, huh? You may be wondering what that means. Well, basically, it means that every Monday, I will be sharing a movie that I love with you guys. Hopefully, my description will make you love it, too!

This Monday, I’m going to tell you guys about a recent love of mine: John Dies at the End.

This is the hardcover version

Now, I want to preface this review by saying that I did read the book by author David Wong – a nom de plume for Senior Cracked editor Jason Pargin – when it first came out as a hardcover in 2009. It is a delightful novel with a ton of crazy moments and laugh-out-loud moments. When I first heard that there was a movie coming out, I didn’t think that there was any way that they could make this thing into a movie. Or, at least, not a good movie.

The book is full of crazy situations, and talking meat, and really intense-sounding descriptions of events and creatures that I was sure that the movie would either find impossible to replicate or that they would overuse CG on and, therefore, ruin.

Then I read an interview with the author, the director, and the executive producer.

Yup. This is the interview.

I regained my faith in movie adaptations of tough-to-adapt books, and rented this movie on iTunes. I gave it a shot. I’m glad I did.

This movie is a delightful surprise featuring Paul Giamatti as a reporter that Dave, John’s friend and associate, is telling his story to regarding the universe-bending drug known as “soy sauce.” Dave and John are played by two relative unknowns, Chase Williamson and Rob Mayes, respectively. Hopefully these two will be in more genre movies in the future, because they are amazing and funny and so, so believable.

It’s a damn good concept and it’s executed in a very funny, classic way. It was adapted by someone who clearly loved the novel and wanted to stay as true to it as possible and still make a good-looking, entertaining movie. Instead of tons of CG and big-budget effects, this movie goes the ’80s, Evil Dead route and uses squibs, awesome props, and – I think – animatronics and puppets to create the creep-tastic creatures and effects.

Seriously, it’s awesome. I cannot tell you how much I adore Evil Dead and it’s ilk (actually, I can, next Monday!), and this movie definitely recreates the fun, funny, mind-expanding atmosphere that those kind of movies have. I laughed, I jumped, and I had to pause the movie to laugh until I cried. I also had philosophical discussions regarding time and the universe with my boyfriend after we watched the movie together, which is always awesome.

I don’t actually want to tell you ANYTHING ELSE about the movie because I don’t want to ruin anything, but I will say that this movie is MUCH smarter and funnier than the trailers give it credit for. I will also say that the dog is a great actor, and it will make you look at hot dogs and “empty” rooms that your pets stare at in a whole new light. Also, of course, eating soy sauce is a whole new experience.

Anyway, here’s the trailer. If there’s anything else you guys want to hear about in future Movie Madness Mondays, let me know!

Leave a Reply

