Happy Women in Horror Month!

So, for those of you who don’t know, February is Women in Horror month! This is very exciting for me because I am a self-described feminist and I also LOVE horror movies. Seriously. So, any time I get to celebrate the accomplishments of women, especially within a genre that I adore, I’m a very happy camper. Unlike the kids at Camp Crystal Lake. Poor kids.

Anyway! For this month, I’ll be featuring my favorite women in horror and their efforts and accomplishments. And, if you don’t like that? Door’s that-a-way.

Or, you could make your own door

So, anyway, this edition of Movie Madness Monday is gonna be about the Twisted Twins, y’all. If you’ve never heard of them, don’t worry. You will. Jen and Sylvia Soska of Twisted Twins Productions are two Canadian sisters (twins, don’tcha know) who make AWESOME horror movies. Their first movie, the amazing, gory, funny, smart, intense, crazy-as-shit, grindhouse-esque Dead Hooker in a Trunk is one of my absolute favorite horror movies I’ve seen. And that’s definitely saying something, especially for a first-time effort made on a shoestring budget.

The effects are gore-geous (ha!) and add just the right amount of surrealism to the ultra-violence. I really loved the blood in the movie, it was free-flowing and had a gorgeous shine and dark vibrancy to it. Also, for a tiny-ass-budget, the effects are damn good. That’s probably because of the people they met in film school, the DIY ethic of two stubborn-as-hell sisters, and the contacts they made just from being ridiculously good at what they do.

 

The bloody faces of true visionaries

The film is, obviously, about what happens when a group of friends find a dead chick, who happens to be a hooker, in their trunk. Of course, absolute madness ensues. I don’t want to tell you too much, but the movie feels short because it’s so action-packed and has so many twists and turns. Nothing Shyamalan-y or anything, just madcap plot points.

I think my favorite scene (of which there are many in this film, but this is definitely in the top 10) is when the sisters’ junkie friend shoots up and has an intense philosophical discussion with the dead chick. Or the scene where the geeky sister looses an eye and goes all anime up on a bitch. You’ll know what I mean when you see it. Actually, the film has quite a lot in common with Japanese genre films, especially the gore, ultra-violence, and awesome chicks kicking ass.

I also adore the characters, which I remember more for their character archetypes than their names. There’s the Badass, the Geek, the Goody Two Shoes, and the Junkie. The ways that these characters face their predicament, and face down everything thrown at them, including pervy cops, pimp killers, losing body parts, and epically gory showdowns really make you fall in love with the characters. Of course, I love the Badass because she’s just so … badass! But, I also adore the quiet strength of the Geek and the courage the Goody Two Shoes finds in himself and the deeper emotions within the Junkie.

The main cast

Apparently, the sisters made the trailer the film is based on as their final project in film school. They created it in honour of exploitation films and ended up making a trailer that earned them an even split of disgust and adoration among viewers at the screening. They also managed to turn the idea into a wonderful full-length that has garnered attention from many genre heavies, such as Eli Roth, and has gotten them featured in some of my favorite horror magazines, including Rue Morgue (which is also Canadian!).

Because they are from Canada, Dead Hooker is set in Vancouver, and has really pumped up the Canadian horror genre, I think. It seems that many films are made in Canada, but most are not actually set there (see Cabin in the Woods, for example), so it’s pretty cool to have a Canadian-made movie set in Canada. I hope to see more from Canada, especially if the Twisted Twins are an example of what the country can produce!

I can’t wait to see their next film, American Mary, which is a horror film that explores body modification and the lengths some people will go to in order to be beautiful. It looks awesome. 

Here’s the trailer for Dead Hooker, which I really can’t recommend enough.

So, next week, I’m gonna look at one of my favorite movies, which features some badass, SCARY women. What’d you think of this review? Are you going to go watch the movie now? You totally should.

Leave a Reply

