Fabulously Natural – Updated to Add Pictures of My Personal Stash

Sometimes, you just don’t feel very fabulous. I went to the dermatologist a little while ago and was (very quickly) diagnosed with seborrheic dermatitis around my nose. It’s itchy, red, flaky skin, similar to very dry or problematic skin. My skin is already pretty sensitive, so this was just the last push I needed to go full-tilt all natural. Since then, I’ve been using Tea Tree & Neem oil soap (pictured below – that is a sample that I halved and kinda squished) and pure shea butter (also pictured below) on my face, and I think it has helped? I also have been forced to stop using my Clarisonic because I got the wrong brush head, and I canNOT wait to get the sensitive one and start using it again (I know, I KNOW), but I do think that the gentle hand washing my face has been getting has helped the SD, even if it hasn’t done a thing for my breakouts.

IMG_1803

My face soap

IMG_1805

My current – very good! – shea butter, though I just ordered a bigger one from elsewhere

I’ve also been putting a bit of pure Tea Tree oil and raw, organic apple cider vinegar on the affected areas, which is a bit tingly and a bit burny if it’s raw, but has also helped a bit. PS, those links are where I get them, but you can also get some of those things at the grocery store. Namely, the ACV and the tea tree oil. Just make sure the ACV is raw, organic, unprocessed with bits of the “mother” (apple pulp, I think) floating in it. It will look cloudy, as opposed to the very clear kind that Heinz makes. There’s nothing wrong with the Heinz, but all the nutrients are gone. Also, I keep a jar of ACV in the bathroom and the main bottle in the kitchen because it can also be taken internally to aid in clearing your skin, speeding your metabolism, and just generally making you healthy (and making a delicious salad dressing!).

IMG_1804

My Bragg’s ACV and tea tree oil

Anyway, I’m going to the dermatologist soon for a second opinion and to see if there’s anything I can do about it. If he agrees that it is SD, then I’m gonna try not to use the steroid cream if I can help it, because that kinda freaks me out (and breaks me out!), and will instead try to use an all natural remedy that has awesome reviews.

This one, in fact

I also did just order some of Nutiva‘s organic, pure, cold-pressed, unrefined coconut butter and Out of Africa‘s pure, organic shea butter, and some Dr. Bronner‘s Lavender castile soap. I highly, personally recommend all of these products, and all of the products I mentioned above (except the Derm-Essentials, which I have yet to try, but the reviews are AMAZING for it and the ingredients all look great for your skin and the company is very open, forthright, honest, and seems like a good one to work with).

Also, I have some DIYs I’m planning for future Fabulous Fridays. I’m thinking some scrubs, some lip balms, some lotions, some deodorants, and anything else you guys might like to see!

Let me know what you thought of this post. I know it’s pretty hippie-dippy, but I am a hippie! What’s wrong with a little nature lovin’? NOTHING, THAT’S WHAT! If you guys have any product requests or ideas of things that you want to see for future fabulous fridays, let me know! I’ll be happy to do them, to guinea pig things, whatever.

Leave a Reply

