Groovy

Hey, y’all! It’s been a while, huh? I’m now safely ensconced in Asheville and in a new job and life is pretty damn good. So, of course, to celebrate my first week here (and also because it came out on Friday), I went to see the new Evil Dead remake with Riley, Mike, and Tio.

Now, y’all may not have noticed, but I am a HUGE fan of the Evil Dead and Army of Darkness movies. Sam Raimi is brilliant, and the things that man did on a shoestring budget still make me cringe and laugh every time I see it. Also, Bruce Campbell. ‘Nuff said.

The Chin (courtesy of imdb.com)

The new remake was produced by both Raimi and Campbell, so I felt good about going to see it and seeing a movie that the OGs were involved with and felt good about. Sometimes I get all high-and-mighty about remakes.

ANYWAY! Onward, onward. The new cast involves quite a few unknowns, though I’m fairly certain I’ve seen the main character played by Shiloh Fernandez (re-christened “David”) in something. Also, they totally dress him in the classic blue button down shirt and jeans that Ash wears so well. There is also a backstory to this film, which is pretty cool. Not only does it add depth to the characters and make you care more about them, it also increases the creepy darkness-level of the atmosphere. Trust me, once you see the first 5-10 minutes, you’ll be creeped out. And also totally into the movie.

(courtesy of grizzlybomb.com)

It does an amazing job of capturing the same intensity and black humour of the original two Evil Dead flicks while still being entirely it’s own film. It’s a lot darker, for certain, and more “horror” than either of the two originals, but that’s certainly not a bad thing! I predict that we will be seeing more of Fede Alvarez, the film’s director.

Let me just say that one thing this film does NOT skimp on is gore. This movie, once the awesome demon-crashing-through-the-forest thing happens, is a gorefest for the ages. In that respect, it is certainly an apt descendent of the original films. There is also the infamous chainsaw and the cutting-off-an-arm business, which delighted me to no end. I’m pretty sure I spent the last half hour of the movie (at least) grinning like a fool. But, it was so fun!

I do recommend seeing the Bruce Campbell version(s) of Evil Dead before seeing this one, but if you can’t, that’s okay! It’s certainly not necessary. I saw it with three people who have never seen (or even heard of! blasphemy!) the originals, and I think they liked it. To wit, one of them gave this one an 8.5/10. I would rate it higher, just because of the awesomeness of it all, but I might rate it lower based on the fact that I wasn’t “terrified” as all the ads were claiming I’d be.

See? (courtesy of the gaming gang)

However, it did have a few really good jump scares, and enough gore to satiate even the thirstiest gore hound. I don’t really want to give too much away, but it is an awesome allegory about drugs and addiction, and the main female character (“Mia,” David’s brother) is a junkie who’s come to the cabin to go all cold-turkey after her most recent OD. There is also a really interesting undercurrent of madness and the fear of becoming mad, especially when it already is in your DNA. Which is something I’m sure many can relate to, especially in this day and age, post-Prozac Nation.

Oh! Be sure to stay through the final credits for the quickest Bruce Campbell cameo EVER, I’m sure. Plus, they totally play the recording of the book from the original film during the credits, so it’s no hardship to sit through them.

I’m going to leave y’all with the trailer, and just say go see it! See y’all tomorrow for an installation of Tarot Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

