Stuff and Things!

Sometimes, you just gotta go back to the old posts. I want to tell you guys about a nail polish, because I am very torn about it and I feel it’s a very unique colour and cool brand, so you know. I thought it might be fun to talk about.

It’s called Con Limon by Floss Gloss.

IMG_2351

Con Limon pictured here in natural light with Beyond Cozy on the pinky. Doesn’t it look super tropical with that orange lighter? Yes, it’s that neon.

So, first off, allow me to add my voice to the chorus of praise heaped upon Floss Gloss. Their colours are amazing, very unique, and they certainly are great at branding their product with a unique (if small) bottle and a well-laid-out, fun, funky-fresh website.

IMG_2491

Terrible colour quality, but a very cool bottle.

I also want to preface my critique by saying that it might have just been a one-off — maybe my bottle was somehow left out in the sun too long or something.

That said, I have found my bottle of Con Limon to be very hard to work with. It takes me 3 medium-to-thick coats or 4 medium-to-thin coats to get an opaque colour with no VNL or VNB (visible nail line or visible nail bed, which are the two banes of my existence). Now, I hate being able to see the demarcation of nail to nail bed or to be able to see bits of my nail bed underneath a colour. I don’t wear light colours unless they’re clear or opaque, I don’t really do “nudes” or “shells” or any of those “lady-like” colours. They are not my thing. I like bright, loud, in-your-face colour.

To be fair, Con Limon is definitely screamingly neon when it’s on and opaque. So, it’s got that going for it. Like I said earlier, I love FG’s colours because I think they’re very unique and colours that I always wanted but could never find.

Another issue I have is the streakiness. I don’t know if it’s because of my base coat (I currently am using Nailtiques’ Formula 2 for peeling, cracked, problem nails) or if it’s the formula, but for me, it goes on very streaky. Like, we’re talking, the same kind of streaks I used to get when I was first learning to paint my nails.

However, with a good top coat (or a coating of glitter, which I can’t even BEGIN to describe how much that amplifies the colour and adds sick amounts of depth), the streakiness disappears. So, that’s really not that big of a deal to me. I have certainly used worse in my time, as has anyone who’s ever used a black that isn’t OPI’s Black Onyx, which is my HG black polish, for reals.

IMG_2492

Glittery neon goodness. Con Limon with Essie’s Shine of the Times. Sorry about the crap lighting. Also, this is my current notd.

Anyway, I’m pretty sure that’s all I have to say about that. Let me know if you’ve tried Con Limon, or an of FG’s many shades. I really want to try their new ones, “Pony” and “Blood, Suede, and Tears.” Also, let me know if you’ve got an entirely different opinion of Con Limon and why! That would be great, because then I would know if it was just my bottle or what. It seems like most people freaking love FG’s colours, so I’m hoping it’s just the one bottle.

Anyway, I hope y’all are having a fun weekend this weekend! I know I am. I’m heading to St. Simon’s Island to hang out with my mom and attend a writer’s conference! I’ve been going since I was little, so I know lots of people, and it will be cool to see them all. Plus, writing classes and an excuse to do nothing but write for four days straight! Booya. I’m sure I’ll be updating with some new writing after, so look forward to that, babes!

Leave a Reply

